(808) 333-3538

FAQ

Gluten – Free Oats?

About 1% of the world’s population has Celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. These are people whose compromised immune systems cannot tolerate any gluten, such as that found in wheat, rye or barley. Although oats have no gluten, oats grown downwind of a wheat field, or exposed to any wheat dust, in a silo for example, may not be tolerated by Celiacs or people with non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

For these people, we occasionally bake batches of granola made with “Certified Gluten-free” oats. Please contact us directly, and we will let you know when we are baking with Certified Gluten-Free oats.

If you tolerate oats and prefer gluten-free products, but you are not a person with Celiac disease or a non-celiac gluten sensitivity, our “regular” granola should be fine for you, as it has no added gluten.

**The new low-glycemic granola is sweetened with organic blue agave and with erythritol, a natural sweetener from a fermentation process. Erythritol has no calories, no aftertaste, no gastric distress, and a Glycemic Index of ZERO. It does not promote cavities. Our diabetic tasters say “it has just the right amount of sweetness.”

“The homemade granola is to die for. I still haven’t found any at home that even compare.” –Yahoo.

This is the Macadamia Granola that has been served at the Shipman House Bed and Breakfast in Hilo since it opened in 1997. Guests from around the world have raved about it everyday at breakfast, and again on the Internet after they’ve left. It’s like finding Paradise in your bowl.

Scroll to top